Review – Overkill w/ Kreator & Warbringer @ City National Grove of Anaheim – 11/15/13

Karina Parker Nov 20th, 2013 | By
Category: Kreator, Overkill, Warbringer, Written Reviews

Review – Overkill w/ Kreator & Warbringer
@ City National Grove of Anaheim

 

DSC_2111_521x780

November 15, 2013
By Karina Diane Parker

November 15, 2013 will forever go down in history in Southern California. As some gathered in line for the launch of Playstation 4, metalheads decided to drop their controllers and gather in line for one of the biggest events in trash metal history. Not only did the German pioneers of trash, Kreator come to town; they joined forces with a few big trash metal bands from the USA, Overkill and Warbringer. The rightfully titled “Legends of Thrash” tour was already living up to its name, and the fans were ready to get their faces shredded off!

DSC_1926_557x780

First up was Warbringer, this was a great opening act since they are California natives. The band performed some new songs from their recently released album IV: Empires Collapse followed by some older material to close out the set. The most standout of the set was Ben Mottsman’s bass as he slapped away every note with confidence.  Watching Carlos Cruz on drums was intense, he has so much energy that at certain points I thought he was sitting on a trampoline and was about to leap out towards the audience . If anyone in the crowd thought they could just chill out during this band till the big guns come out; they were wrong! Circle pits erupted within seconds of the band hitting the stage and the crowd definitely felt like they were “Living in a Whirlwind”!

Setlist- Warbringer @ City National Grove of Anaheim – 11/15/13

  1. Living Weapon
  2. Severed Reality
  3. The Turning of the Gears
  4. Hunter-Seeker
  5. Living in a Whirlwind
  6. Scars Remain
  7. Towers of the Serpent

DSC_2020_1040x694

Up next , the US godfathers of trash, Overkill, hit the stage. I don’t care what anyone has to say about this band but you will never pass up a metalhead’s car or spot a trasher’s jean jacket without an Overkill patch or sticker somewhere on it. I must say that seeing these guys live is an absolute privilege. Bobby Blitz’s vocals alone will never disappoint. If you are a trashmetaler singer you got to hit those high notes and there are not too many vocalists out there that compare to Blitz! The second the band hit the stage, the crowd went nuts.  Fast drums, the high screams and the sickest riffs set the ambiance of the set. Overkill opened up with “Deny the Cross”, and by the time  started playing “Electric Rattlesnake” there were three crowd surfers per  security guard.   They closed out the set with an appropriate rendition of “Fuck You”. It was a mass, a trashy mass, and everyone loved it.

Setlist- Overkill @ City National Grove of Anaheim – 11/15/13

  1. Deny the Cross
  2. Bring Me the Night
  3. Electric Rattlesnake
  4. Hammerhead
  5. Rotten to the Core
  6. Hello From the Gutter
  7. Ironbound
  8. Necroshine
  9. Overkill
  10. Elimination
  11. Horrorscope
  12. Fuck You

DSC_2738_1040x694

It was now time for the pioneers of trash, Kreator. The powerhouse from Germany recently released a new album Phantom Antichrist which has been doing great on the airwaves. Opening up with “Phantom Antichrist” and progressing into their older material, two giant pits exploded throughout The Grove in different sections. I believe this was the dirtiest I have seen this venue get. Performing Fan-favorites like “Pleasure to Kill” brought on a brutal assault as the crowd nearly took down the barrier between the stage and the audience. To close out the night, Mille Petrozza started waving what was literally a flag of “Hate” and until he heard the crowd from front to back chanting the title louder he did not put the flag down. Once he was satisfied with the audience’s performance, he broke into “Flag of Hate”. The band sounded pitch perfect and defiantly utilized the stage to their advantage by strutting around throughout the set.

Setlist – Kreator  @ City National Grove of Anaheim – 11/15/13

  1. Mars Mantra (Intro)
  2. Phantom Antichrist
  3. From Flood into Fire
  4. Warcurse
  5. Endless Pain
  6. Pleasure to Kill
  7. Hordes of Chaos
  8. Riot of Violence
  9. Enemy of God
  10. Phobia
  11. Violent Revolution
  12. United in Hate
  13. Civilization Collapse
  14. Flag of Hate / Tormentor

Since they both co-headlined the tour by switching off in each city based on fan following, I would have hoped Overkill would have played a bit of a longer set here. Especially since the ratio of Overkill fans and Kreator fans was fairly equal judging by everyone’s t-shirts.  Overall though the fans were not disappointed and we all had a very memorable night of trash!

Upcoming Overkill & Kreator Tour Dates:

11/21/13 – Diamond Pub & Billiards – Louisville, KY
11/22/13 – Empire – W. Springfield, VA
11/23/13 – Stage 48 – New York City, NY
11/24/13 – Stage 48 – New York City, NY

The Bands

WARBRINGER
John Kevill (Vocals)
John Laux (Guitar)
Jeff Potts (Guitar)
Ben Mottsman (Bass)
Carlos Cruz (Drums)
www.facebook.com/Warbringermusic
www.warbringermus

OVERKILL
Bobby “Blitz” Ellsworth (Vocals)
D.D. Verni (Bass)
Dave Linsk (Lead Guitar)
Derek “The Skull” Tailer (Rhythm Guitar)
Ron Lipnicki (Drums)
www.wreckingcrew.com
www.facebook.com/OverkillWreckingCrew

KREATOR
Miland “Mille” Petrozza (Vocals & Guitrar)
Sami Yli-Sirniö (Guitar)
Christian “Speesy” Giesler (Bass)
Jürgen “Ventor” Reil (Drums)
www.kreator-terrorzone.de
www.facebook.com/KreatorOfficial

Photos – Overkill w/ Kreator & Warbringer
@ City National Grove of Anaheim – 11/15/13

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

4 Comments to “Review – Overkill w/ Kreator & Warbringer @ City National Grove of Anaheim – 11/15/13”

  1. They give a very cool style and their performance more than good

  2. Unholy Music says:

    check us here for more brutal reviews: http://www.unholymusic.com

  3. Wow! This is really nice information. I appreciate your hard work here. I will definitely use your advices, because paper writing is the most boring work. But thanks to you I know how do it more interesting and more successful. I get to see more interesting stuff from you in futur

Leave a Comment